All I Want For My Birthday…

“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” –Leonardo da Vinci


As my birthday approaches, I’m struck with the feeling that it’s time to set a new intention. After completing the kitchari cleanse (you can read about it here), I realize how much time is wasted worrying and planning. I spent the better part of a year wondering about the “what ifs” and the “whys” when I could have been doing so much more. I could have had more belly laughs. I could have been traveling more. I could have even perfected a chocolate souffle. Instead, I was ruminating and wishing for something else.

imagesThe last three or four months have been incredibly powerful for me. I let go of so much worry and have been doing exactly what I want to do. If I feel like practicing yoga twice a day, I do it. My communication has been en pointe, and I’ve been saying exactly what I need to say. I’ve felt incredibly present, very joyous and confident.

So with my pending birthday, I’m thinking about what I want to accomplish and how I want my life to be for this coming revolution around the sun. I ask myself:

How complicated does it have to be?

My birthday intention is to make everything more simple.

This means each day, I can evaluate what is serving me and what’s not. If it feels icky, it probably is. Discard it. If it feels right, keep moving forward.

I know as well as each of you: it doesn’t always seem so simple in the moment. It can feel really hard to see the forest through the trees. It seems a lot more complicated when we look at moving parts and social dynamics. But, if we look at things for what they are and truly become aware to how they feel, it’s not difficult at all. Communication doesn’t have to be strenuous or unwieldy. Listening with empathy is pretty great, actually! I really hear the person and try not to let historical crap crowd my thoughts. Instead, it feels satisfying to really understand what someone says and means.simplicity

For my birthday this year, I intend to experience a love that flows freely. Love also doesn’t need to be complex, secretive, dirty or weird. Instead, it’s like this: if you love me and I love you, why are we making it so strange? Time to reset and make it simple.

Work (or my Coaching practice, in particular) is simple. If we want to work together, let’s do it. I value myself as a Coach and value you as a client. I want to help my clients be here as much as get there.

My friendships remain nearest and dearest to my heart. I just spent the weekend laughing with two of my best friends while enjoying crisp, autumn air in the Utah mountains. This year, I hope to see my friends whom I haven’t seen in a long time and develop other close relationships with people who share my yes philosophy. In other words, I like people who are up for trying new things and who maintain a growth mindset. My tribe is people who are optimistic and maintain a positive attitude.

Lastly, the concept of having less (stuff) and doing more resonates with me. It seems like a simple fix: instead of buying another trinket, I like to utilize what I have. I feel strongly about experiencing some awesome travel and relationships this year, rather than cluttering my closets. Simplicity is a form of beauty, a “supreme excellence” like Henry Wadsworth Longfellow says.

This post is shorter today because I’m trying to economize my words in the name of simplicity.

Please visit my coaching site: Coaching By Nina Rubin.

One thought on “All I Want For My Birthday…

Leave a Reply

