Goodbye, 2016

Dear 2016,

In the words of John Oliver, “this is not normal.” You were not normal.

I won’t miss the uncertainty and surrealness you brought this year. I won’t rush to rehash the collective anxiety of an entire country who was polarized and anxious about an election. I’m still grieving the death of my cat, Olive, and know so many people are contemplating the deaths of Carrie Fisher, Prince and George Michael (among many others). I don’t believe their deaths were a result of the year, but due to drugs over a long period of time. The election and political events of the year encouraged a new dialogue in the country, and more people stood for something than I expected. Standing for something is much better than the apathy we’ve seen in recent years.

For me, personally, 2016 has brought transition and change. I lived in three different places and moved twice. Feeling a sense of instability was terrible, and I incurred bouts of sadness and self-doubt. I learned more about adulthood than I ever thought possible, and this is coming from someone who thought she understood what it meant to be a grown up. I’ve had a variety of family tumult, which has knocked me into another realm. I’ve also learned (and relearned) that people who don’t work to change, won’t and don’t change.

You also gave me joyous moments, like my May Day PopUp Brunch with my friend Shirley, some travel within the state of California, getting a kitten, spending time with friends, learning more about new and progressive industries, leading a group of 18 women in my accountability group, the Purpose Passion Project, and going on a yoga retreat with Daily Bliss Yoga. I got an annual pass for Disneyland, something I never thought I’d do, and now realize how much I love it there. It’s not called “The Happiest Place on Earth” for nothing. Joining a women’s writing group has also been a god-send to me, and I’ve noticed my writing get tighter and my circle grow. I love these women.

I’m not going to bore you with the clichéd words that 2016 has been the worst. This year has simply been tough. It’s been emotionally draining, cumbersome, tiring.

I hope 2017 is markedly better. I’m aware that the only way I’ll experience improvement in 2017 is if I/we work to make it so. In my next post, I’ll be addressing my goals and intentions for 2017 and I encourage you to write and shares yours, too.

If you’re into numerology and astrology, I recently learned that 2016 is a 9 year (2+1+6 = 9). Nine is a number of endings and completion. However, 2017 is a 1 year, and one is a number of new beginnings and creations. As we wind down with 2016, let’s make sure to leave space for new beginnings and creativity. I love reflecting about change and hope you’re doing your own also.

If you need some help reflecting on this year, ask yourself these questions:

What didn’t work?
What did work?
What were your highlights?
What does your new year look like if it’s full of what works?
What do your highlights (and lowlights) say about you?

Before I go, I want to say a heartfelt thank you to my readers, collaborators and writing group for helping me. I also want to thank Zac for assisting with some of the photos and images for the A-Z Blogging Challenge in April.

Here’s to you for a reflective 2016 and a 2017 that looks and feels the way you design. Cheers!

Sincerely,

Nina

I am a Life Coach and Blogger. I work with clients who are in transition between jobs, relationships, love, and feeling stuck. I will be offering my accountability program, The Purpose Passion Project, in 2017 and would love to tell you more about it. Please contact me for more information and to get working together.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye, 2016

Leave a Reply

