Guest Post: Third Floor, Please

Guest Blogger: Ivanna Stanfield

In the past few months, there have been several occasions where I have been in a situation that I needed to give an elevator pitch*. Although it shouldn’t feel awkward, that’s often the case for me. I have what I refer to as a “predisposition to a genetic humbleness.” Talking about myself or putting myself out there doesn’t always feel comfortable. And then, more often than not, I have others telling me that I need to put myself out there more.

The Who said it best…”See Me….Feel Me….Touch me….Heal Me….” It’s a natural human condition to want to be “seen”. Regardless of who you are and what you believe, we all want to be recognized in some way or another. Significance is a basic human need. We all crave and need it to reach a personal level of fulfillment. However, this is where the split happens. For some, being seen means constantly putting themselves out there and craving all and any attention both negative and positive. For others, it presents itself in the form of service to others. Being seen as a contributor to society, a humanitarian, or simply a helpful person.

I have struggled with this for most of my life. I have often been labeled as shy and quiet. I am what most would consider introverted, and happy to be such. I never felt the need to jump up and say “here I am!” It’s just not who I am.

However, there has been some sort of push lately to do otherwise. Actually it’s more of a nudge, as I manage to maintain my comfort zone. I don’t always agree with stepping too far out of my comfort zone. When someone gets pushed out too far, we may see a lack of authenticity. Authenticity is very important to me – keeping true to who I am is something I have struggled to find. I am not about to lose sight of that.

It’s true that we grow when we push ourselves. Instead of pushing out of the comfort zone, why not stretch out within your authenticity zone. Keep true to who you are, while experiencing growth at the same time.

The Who – See Me, Feel Me Lyrics

See Me
Feel Me
Touch Me
Heal Me
See Me
Feel Me
Touch Me
Heal Me

Listening to you, I get the music
Gazing at you, I get the heat
Following you, I climb the mountain
I get excitement at your feet
Right behind you, I see the millions
On you, I see the glory
From you, I get opinion
From you, I get the story
Listening to you, I get the music
Gazing at you, I get the heat
Following you, I climb the mountain
I get excitement at your feet
Right behind you, I see the millions
On you, I see the glory
From you, I get opinion
From you, I get the story

*https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elevator_pitch

Ivanna Stanfield is a Holistic Lifestyle Educator. Her greatest joy is found in guiding others to find true wellness within themselves and the environment. She is a homeschooling mom of three, happily married, and living in a small town in California. After the birth of her oldest son in 1999, she realized the importance of maintaining a healthy, holistic lifestyle. So then began a quest to live a bit more simple and a whole lot more organic. Visit her blog, EarthGypsyEvie.com, and follow her journey as she learns and shares inspirations on living an environmentally conscious and organically holistic lifestyle.
~~A Healthy Planet Begins With You!~~

Leave a Reply

